Skip to content

A.O. EVANS AWARD Nominations Accepted Until November 2, 2020


Nominations Accepted Until November 2, 2020

The AO Evans Award recognizes one individual each year for outstanding contributions to the West Monroe and West Ouachita community.  The person cannot be an elected official who currently holds office, nor can they be on the West Monroe-West Ouachita Chamber Board of Directors.  They must also have made several contributions to the betterment of the community.
The award was first presented in 1976 to Mr. AT Mitchell.  When considering a name for the new award, the Chamber Board decided to name it in honor of the founder of the West Monroe-West Ouachita Chamber of Commerce, Mr. A.O. Evans.  Mr. Evans was the manager of the Northern Division for Louisiana Power and Lights, now Entergy.  In 1956, Mr. Evans successfully worked to establish the West Monroe Chamber of Commerce.  Prior to that time, the Monroe-West Monroe Chamber served all of Ouachita Parish.  Several businesses in West Monroe split with the Chamber and formed the West Monroe Merchants Association.  Mr. Evans believed that by establishing a West Monroe Chamber of Commerce, the organization could accomplish far more.  The West Monroe Chamber was chartered on March 31, 1956 with Mr. Evans as the first President.
Mr. Evans was dedicated and committed to West Monroe and worked to make the city an outstanding place to live, work, and raise a family.  Mr. Evans embodied the characteristics of the people the award honors.  
Past recipients include: A.T. Mitchell, Fred Bennett, Sr. , F.C. McConnell, Jesse Heard, Hugh Balfour, Louis Gruber, Jeff Caldwell, Jr., John Grantham, Alton Calhoun, Margaret Truly, George Welch, Bernard Biedenharn, Bert Hatten, Ike Hamilton, Bill Nelson, Jr., Jack Grable, Charles Morgan, Edward Stinson, Jr., Helen LeFevre, Alice Bennett, Eugene Smith, Clifton Tennison, Evelyn Blackmon, Sidney Wilhite, Cary Davis, Peggy Price Ford, Violet Liner, Arlan Rawls, Raymond Ford, Linda Lavender Ford, Ron Downing, Susan Hoffmann, Dr. August Danti, Judge “Bill” Norris, Jerry Lazenby, Laymon Godwin, Don Shows, Gretchen Kovac, Wade Bishop, Tex Kilpatrick, Blake Wheelis, Johnny Huntsman, Dr. Terry King, Doug Caldwell, Jean Halsell, The Honorable Dave Norris and Rick Guillot.

The Chamber invites you to nominate a member for the 2020 A.O. Evans award - Click Here to Download Nomination Form

Scroll To Top